Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Permanent Fix for Vanagon Fuel Tank Vents
Page: 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Forum Index -> Vanagon Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
BoxsterGT
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2011 2:44 pm    Post subject: Permanent Fix for Vanagon Fuel Tank Vents Reply with quote

Smile

I have been looking at the new Gas Tank I purchased for my DOKA and trying to decide how to fix this grommet issue once and for all.

I have lots of experience with Porsche fuel & oil systems where I work, so this cannot be too hard to do.

I am having some fittings made up to take a Banjo & the correct multi-fuel hose secured by proper clamps or a crimp sleeve.

They will be secured to the tank with Copper Crush washers and absolutely will not leak.

Once this is done I will try to do something with the filler neck.

Will post info & photos soon.

Len

Smile
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Gallery Classifieds Feedback
purplepeopleeater
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2011 2:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I always thought welding some nipples to the tank in place of the plastic fittings and rubber grommets. Cool
GrindGarage
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2011 4:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I havn't had the pleasure of dropping my tank yet but anyway to get bulkhead fittings in there? can your arm reach the other side?

91 Vanagon AUTO
97 Single Port EJ22 all smallcar.com
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Facebook Gallery Classifieds Feedback
rubbachicken
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Sep 22, 2011 5:04 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote