Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Buy a Bay Window or Vanagon for a family camper?
Page: 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Forum Index -> Bay Window Bus Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
spiritwarrior
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2012 12:28 am    Post subject: Buy a Bay Window or Vanagon for a family camper? Reply with quote

Looking to buy a low mileage bay window or vanagon configured as a camper. I have some experience with the 2000 cc FI engine as I used to own a Square Back wagon. Also owned early model VW bugs and Karmann Khias so I don't want to fool with the 1600-1800CC air cooled, something was always wrong with them. If you were getting something for a family of five would you go with the Bay window or Vanagon. I believe in case of a bay window the 78's and up were hydraulic value lifters. Looking to pay about 10K for something that is not a rust bucket and the mechanical are in good shape. Thanks. Looked at new recreational vehicle prices and even if I pay more than 10K it will be a bargain.
pioneer1
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2012 4:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Waterboxer Vanagon will give your family reliable heat on those frosty Korean outings. Warm wife/happy life.

'85 Porsche 911 Targa

'76 Westfalia project
Poptopcamper
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Sep 23, 2012 5:10 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Depends on if you like to work on your bus on the side of the road occasionally. You didn't like the earlier air cooled so I don't think you will appreciate the idiosyncrasies of a later air cooled bus. What about a Eurovan for hauling Those kids? Or for real dependability, a newer minivan. Then get an old bus to play with. I had a Astrovan and we always got there with the kids. Can't say the same about my old 73 transporter.