Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

The 50th Anniversary Restoration Thread
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Beetle - Late Model/Super - 1968-up Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
talljordan
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2021 4:01 pm    Post subject: The 50th Anniversary Restoration Thread Reply with quote

I'm back, its been about 6 years since I was active on the forum, hopefully there are still a lot of familiar faces around. In that time, I graduated, moved to the United States from my home in Vancouver, and got myself a job that has thankfully afforded me a budget to fully restore the 1972 Super I purchased 11 years ago at age 15.

I put the bug in storage a number of years ago as the floors were rotting out and I didn't have the money to give it the treatment it deserved. Its been sitting in various barns and garages ever since. For the labour day weekend, I procured myself a private garage in SF (no easy task), flew to Seattle where I rented a truck, then drove up to Canada to pick the bug up, and then drove it all the way back home to San Francisco.

Per the door sticker she rolled off the line in September of 1971, exactly 50 years ago! So the 50th anniversary restoration thread is born!

As you can see from the pictures, I have a lot of work ahead of me!

Reunited at last
Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

My best friends helping load her up

"Thats a lot of damage"

In transit

In its new home:

Me:

Wanted: Male computer diagnostic plug end
Cusser
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Sep 06, 2021 4:07 pm    Post subject: Re: The 50th Anniversary Restoration Thread Reply with quote

My 1970's 50th