Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

valve guide reaming
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Performance/Engines/Transmissions Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
This page may contain links to eBay where the site receives compensation.
sgellis
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Feb 14, 2022 1:56 pm    Post subject: valve guide reaming Reply with quote

Rebuilding stock 36h heads. Installed new valve guides and run ream through them.

The new valves seem tight but I have no experience with guides. I need to give the valves a very light push all the way in or out (no lube). I was expecting them to drop in/out with just gravity. Did a very quick measure and they appear to be within spec.

How do new stainless valves feel when putting them in newly reamed brass guides? I am going to take the time to do accurate measurements and go by that but it is nice to have some idea of what things should feel like.

If they are a little tight could I run a hone through them to get to spec?
https://www.amazon.com/Research-FLEX-HONE-Cylinder-Abrasive-Diameter/dp/B002XUL19Y

Thanks
The Nova Scotian Barndoor (YouTube)
The Nova Scotian Barndoor (CAD drawings)
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Gallery Classifieds Feedback
Brian_e
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Feb 14, 2022 2:08 pm    Post subject: Re: valve guide reaming Reply with quote

The intakes should have .0015" clearance, and the exhausts should have .0025" clearance.

If they are the slightest bit tight now, they will bind up and stick once its running. The valves should fall in and out of the heads dry.

I tried a lot of things, but found a AV&V carbide reamer to work the best. reagular HSS reamers will just sieve up in the guide.

Any real engine machine shop should be able to quick hone a few tenth's out for you.