Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

MIG Welding Overhead
Forum Index -> Body/Paint Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
lintmann
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Feb 26, 2024 9:04 pm    Post subject: MIG Welding Overhead Reply with quote

I was wondering if anyone has welding sheet metal overhead with a MIG nailed down? I need to weld in a few patches and as luck would have it, I'll have to do it upside down. I'm pretty new with the MIG but have horizontal welding pretty much figured out with fairly flat welds and good penetration.

I have a Lincoln 140 and I'm using .023" wire and an argon CO2 mix. Any set-up procedures or tips are appreciated. Thanks!
Mike Fisher
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Feb 27, 2024 10:25 am    Post subject: Re: MIG Welding Overhead Reply with quote

You have the right equipment so 'practice makes perfect'.
two 57 oval ragtops sold
'68 Karmann Ghia sold

Society is like stew. If you don't keep it stirred up you end up with a lot of scum on the top! - Russ_Wolfe/Edward Abbey
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Facebook Gallery Classifieds Feedback
VW_Jimbo Premium Member
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Feb 27, 2024 11:49 pm    Post subject: Re: MIG Welding Overhead Reply with quote

ROTISSERIE!

That’s how I weld upside down!

There is never enough time to do it right the first time, but all the time necessary the second time!

TDCTDI wrote:
Basically, a whole bunch of fuckery to achieve a look.

67rustavenger wrote:
GFY's Xevin and VW_Jimbo! Smile
Stinky123
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Feb 28, 2024 10:22 pm    Post subject: Re: MIG Welding Overhead Reply with quote

The technique is the exact same. The electrical current "carries" the metal across and then Capilary action keeps it in place.