Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Essential Tool List
Page: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9  Next
Forum Index -> Vanagon Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
ItsAVanagon
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2007 11:29 am    Post subject: Essential Tool List Reply with quote

I looked around and searched a bit and there isnt any list of tools one should have in their vanagon at all times. Im new to this so I dont have any suggestions, but I would sure like to hear everyone elses.
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Classifieds Feedback
Dogpilot
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Jun 18, 2007 11:59 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That list could vary from a 13mm combo wrench to a complete shop full of tools. My basic opinion on this;

Get a tool roll from Home Depot.
Get a set of Gear Wrenches from Sears in Metric (they have the ratcheting box end and combo end)
Get a 1/4" drive cheap socket set
Combo screwdriver(one that the end pulls out and it switches between phillips and slot in different sizes)
Channel locks
Vice grips, needle nosed and regular
set of Allen wrenches in Metric
19mm deep socket with a breaker bar (throw out the factory lug wrench)
17mm deep socket
Crescent wrench (adjustable spanner)
A cheap digital volt meter
small screwdriver in phillips and slot
Diagonal cutter (dikes)
bunch of tie wraps in various sizes
self fusing tape
Selection of light bulbs for exterior lights, to satisfy any police officers
Reflective Triangle
Three road flares to simulate dynamite or wave in space alien's faces
Piece of 3/4" plywood about 12"x18" for jacking on uneven soft surfaces
Folding shovel
Rags and some of those Lava hand cleaning wipes in the small flat pack
Bentley Manual on disk or Protraining on disk
AAA Gold Card
08 Range Rover SC