Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

51 rag project dash query?
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Beetle - Split-Window/1938-53 VWs Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
sinclair
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Oct 12, 2009 3:36 am    Post subject: 51 rag project dash query? Reply with quote

Hi. I'm new to the early stuff but shouldn't my dash speedo have an ignition switch in it? I have a switch on each side but no hole for an ignition key? an the reverse is a fuse mount. Any ideas?
Seems to be a steering lock though?
Cheers. Question
Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Gallery Classifieds Feedback
johnshenry Premium Member
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Oct 12, 2009 6:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

That is bizarre. Never seen a VW pod like that. It should have an ignition switch. VW piggy backed a fuse on the pod in '51 or '52, but it was not like that.

Are the bits of wire still present there cloth or PVC? Is there a date and or part number on the speedo? The speedo style is the '51 and earlier face and housing.

Perhaps that is from a Porsche???

'57 Deluxe
'56 Single Cab
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website Gallery Classifieds Feedback
VWwerks
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Oct 12, 2009 8:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

What is the logo to the right of the "fuse"?? I don't think its Porsche.
sinclair
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Oct 12, 2009 8:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

[email protected] wrote:
What is the logo to the right of the "fuse"?? I don't think its Porsche.

No it's a VW logo. and on the left a K in a circle
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Gallery Classifieds Feedback
eurodub
Samba Member