Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Oatsey's 1969 Beetle rebuild thread - Details & Pics
Forum Index -> Beetle - Late Model/Super - 1968-up Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Oatsey
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2013 3:32 pm    Post subject: Oatsey's 1969 Beetle rebuild thread - Details & Pics Reply with quote

Greetings: Long time lurker under a different screen name, first time poster. I love this community and the information contained in it....... Thank You for your contributions that have helped me with multiple beetles in the past.

I have decided to share my rebuild of my 1969 VW Beetle.

I am no novice to VW nor mechanics in general. My first car was a 1973 Super (circa 1996) and I'm a gearhead by blood. This is now my 4th beetle and my father has had a couple along the way.

History:
Bought the car almost 2 years ago from local guy. P.O. bought the car 3 years before that from a guy in Alabama who did all of the work that you see in the below pictures.
------------------------------------------------------------------------
Current Condition:
Suspension: Weld in adjusters, stock beam width, stock spindles, lots of 5 year old urethane bushings throughout the car, dropped an unknown number of notches in the back.

Body: Creative Car Craft widened fiberglass fenders (which I believe to be 3" wider than factory) Straight and pretty clean sheet metal with 5 year old flat black paint. Relatively rust free, but has been crashed in the front at one point so it has a newer front apron poorly welded in... Stock floor pans/channels with repairs on passenger rear pan. Rear apron cut out w/fiberglass cover panel. Pop-out windows, and a broken windshield.