Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Re:Super 8 Film file of '53 Barndoor Deluxe - circa early 1960
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Split Bus - Barndoor Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
kintail
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Oct 08, 2023 1:18 pm    Post subject: Re:Super 8 Film file of '53 Barndoor Deluxe - circa early 1960 Reply with quote

Background of the '53 Barndoor Deluxe (aka Green Flash)

Related link: https://www.thesamba.com/vw/forum/viewtopic.php?t=222253

Josef Werner Damrath, was born on February 7th, 1932 in pre WW2 Germany. Back in the early ‘50s, he was a wood joiner by trade in then West Germany and beginning to contemplate a new life in Canada. The decision to immigrate was made, and he told the story about trading in his ’49 Beetle for a ’53 Barndoor Deluxe, realizing he needed more space to pack his belongings for the move overseas. For whatever reason, he chose Winnipeg as his home, and ended up buying an older cottage/home situated on a river lot along the Red River. Sometime later he bought another barndoor bus, a 54 Kombi w/rare rear opening hatch, for which he handcrafted a top notch replica SO 23 camping interior for.
Over the years many people knew about the buses and tried to acquire them. Werner however wanted to keep them and was known not to answer the door, mail, or phone as well. So all attempts came to naught!