Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

1966 Ruby Red Sedan Restoration - Sat for 47 years
Page: 1, 2, 3  Next
Forum Index -> Beetle - 1958-1967 Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
summerof78
Samba Member

PostPosted: Sun Nov 12, 2023 9:06 pm    Post subject: 1966 Ruby Red Sedan Restoration - Sat for 47 years Reply with quote

This thing is like a time capsule. Filled with artifacts from the early to mid-70s. PO walked away from it, never to return.

The engine looks like it was showered in oil, and never cleaned up. It's all down the apron and all over the underside of the deck lid.

Looking for some educated guesses as to what caused this. Keep in mind, this is my first VW, and I am not a mechanic.

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.
rcroane Premium Member
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Nov 13, 2023 4:30 am    Post subject: Re: 1966 Ruby Red Sedan Restoration - Sat for 47 years Reply with quote

Is the motor seized? Can you put a wrench on the pulley nut and turn it by hand?
Apostle_
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Nov 13, 2023 7:04 am    Post subject: Re: 1966 Ruby Red Sedan Restoration - Sat for 47 years Reply with quote

That should clean up nicely. Good find!
summerof78
Samba Member

PostPosted: Mon Nov 13, 2023 7:45 am    Post subject: Re: 1966 Ruby Red Sedan Restoration - Sat for 47 years Reply with quote

rcroane wrote:
Is the motor seized? Can you put a wrench on the pulley nut and turn it by hand?

Sorry, should have mentioned that. Unbelievably, it turns by hand. Oil is still in the crankcase, but just enough to register on the low end of the dipstick.
Stockholm VW
Samba Member