Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

How To: Welding Floor Pans with what you got (120VAC Mig Welder)
Forum Index -> Body/Paint Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
lmar
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Nov 30, 2023 12:40 pm    Post subject: How To: Welding Floor Pans with what you got (120VAC Mig Welder) Reply with quote

I am not a welder.

Just a DIY that has been self taught.

My first set of full pans did not turn out the way they should have. I will have to rework them.

Decided not to have a repeat with the second set of pans.

I've never seen this method explained so I will attempt to do so here.

Note - I am using a Lincoln MIG 140 with .030 wire I purchased from Crappy Tire in Canada. It is the ubiquitous 120 VAC welder. Don't try to do this with anything but solid core wire and shielding gas.

By all accounts it does not have the ability to dial in the amperage (You are given letters for current settings and numbers for wire feed).

Problem: You are trying to weld 1-1.2 mm pans to multi-ply sheet metal that forms the rigid backbone of the VW Beetle Frame (3-4mm). Heat control (or lack thereof) will be the major issue.

Step 1 - Make sure your holes in the pan are the correct size. 1/4 too small - weld fills hole before sufficient penetration. 5/16 seems to be the minimum size required. Don't go bigger or you will melt the edge of your pans. Most of the "flange/hole" tools I've seen come with a 1/4 diameter hole. Use it to position holes and then open them up using a Unibit (step/tree) drill.

Step 2 - Make sure you have sufficient edge distance such that the welds will not "bleed" off of frame edge. All bets are off. You want consistent geometry to minimize errors - not maximize them.