Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Eurovan 01M --> DQ250 (or other DSG) Swap?
Forum Index -> Eurovan Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
dbeeby
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2024 6:29 pm    Post subject: Eurovan 01M --> DQ250 (or other DSG) Swap? Reply with quote

Hello folks,

I had my 03 Eurovan MV in the shop for some brake work this week and one of the techs said that when (not if) the 01M craps out they might be able to swap in a DSG (he mentioned the DQ250 specifically).

Has anyone else done this? I don't care if there's a stubby shifter on the floor as long as the transmission is (finally!) reliable, the engine revs lower at highway speeds, and the van doesn't judder violently between 3rd and 4th (as it does sometimes nowadays).

I'm a complete noob when it comes to this stuff, but I'm just trying to plan for the future and try to keep my old van on the road for a bunch more years.

Thanks,
Dan
EuroTec
Samba Member

PostPosted: Wed Mar 20, 2024 6:47 pm    Post subject: Re: Eurovan 01M --> DQ250 (or other DSG) Swap? Reply with quote

A manual swap is totally doable. I don't know about a DSG but I'd say no to that.

Last edited by EuroTec on Thu Mar 21, 2024 4:17 am; edited 3 times in total
View user's profile Send private message Twitter Instagram Gallery Classifieds Feedback
gesoffen
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Mar 21, 2024 4:07 am    Post subject: Re: Eurovan 01M --> DQ250 (or other DSG) Swap? Reply with quote

Assuming your EV has the stock trans, you have the 01P transmission. This is a derivative of the 01M with some minor updates due to the weight of the EV.