Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Ignition switch wiring issue: make it make sense
Forum Index -> Beetle - Late Model/Super - 1968-up Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Hydro626
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Apr 23, 2024 8:28 pm    Post subject: Ignition switch wiring issue: make it make sense Reply with quote

I've got a 72 Super that I've been driving for about 15 years now. Recently I noticed some of the wires behind the ignition switch got pretty hot sometimes. I figured out that they only get hot when the headlights are on. I have no idea how long they've been doing this.

Looking at the back of the switch I see where I rigged the system 15 years ago by tying the headlight (black/yellow) wire to the ignition (black) wire and sticking them both on terminal 15. "I should probably fix that" I thought to myself, and so I split the two wires up with new connectors and plugged them into their correct terminals: 15 for the black and X for the yellow/black.

Aaaaand the car won't start. The headlights come on with the key on but the car won't start. Confused, I tied the wires back together and the car starts right up.

What on EARTH is going on? Isn't the black/yellow wire supposed to deliver power TO the headlights? How could the ignition wire be getting power from it? Or is it getting a ground through that wire? Can I leave them tied together like they've been for over a decade now and not cause any problems?

"Never name your car...too much unhealthy emotional connection coupled with your human dark/light,yin/yang energy affects the mechanical health of the vehicle and causes magnetic convergences like the one you just had.that, or some old f**k backed into your car,its hard to tell..." -johnnypan
airschooled
Air-Schooled