Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Transmissions For Dummies
Page: 1, 2, 3 ... 26, 27, 28  Next
Jump to:
Forum Index -> HBB Off-Road Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Daniel G
Crazy Amish Guy

PostPosted: Fri Nov 18, 2005 11:45 am    Post subject: Transmissions For Dummies Reply with quote

This article is meant to help answer some of the transmission questions that are constantly asked. I am by no means an expert, but I have learned quite a bit about trannies since I got into VW's, and I hope this info will be helpful to someone.

Identifying VW Transaxles...

The 091...Aka the 6-rib
Found in '76-'79 Bus. They have a 4.56 R&P ratio, and are considered to be the strongest stock VW transmission.
Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

091-Side Shift
*Note: This is the one that can be converted to nose shift.
Essentially the same as the Bus 091 and can be converted to nose shift.
Found in '80-'83 Vanagons with the T4 engine.

091-Mid Shift
*Note: This one cannot be converted to nose shift.
This may actually be an 094 instead of an 091, but I haven't verified this yet.
Found in '83-up Vanagons with the Wasserboxer engine.

094 Synchro 4x4
*Note: I don't know much about this one, except for the fact that they are pretty rare. However, they have a locking differential that can be made to fit in an 091 or 002 (More on this later).
Found in ??-?? Synchro Vanagons.

The 002...Aka the 3-rib
*Note: The earlier 3-ribs have no mounting ears on top of the bellhousing, axle flange retainers attached by acorn nuts, and a shorter input shaft (for the T1 engine). There's more info the early models posted below the pic. They have a 5.38 (Also 5.42, but it is pretty rare) R&P ratio.

Bruce wrote: