Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Lubricating the Vanagon heater fan
Page: 1, 2, 3  Next
Forum Index -> Vanagon Share: Facebook Twitter
This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
westyventures
Samba Member

PostPosted: Tue Nov 17, 2009 11:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Terry Kay wrote:

I AM NOT A PROPONENT OF BORING HOLES IN THE COWL AND OILING THE END OF ONE OUTSIDE BEARING ONLY, AS KARL HAS SUGGESTED TO THE MASSES.

Don't you ever stop being such a ridiculous arse? OK, let me spell it out for you, one more time, pay attention this time:

I have (had) a fan that had one bearing squealing. I know which one it is because I took a moment to check with the appropriate device. I don't have time to replace a motor right now with all the other work stacked up behind it. The squeal annoys me (at this point a lot less than you do!). So, I pull out a mirror and light, identify that the bearing is accessible - if only I had a borescope with an attachment to guide the tube from oil to the bearing. I decide to make a simple unobtrusive 3/8" hole, easily plugged, in a non-critical area. I turn the fan on, turn the light on inside the cavity,spray directly into the bearing, oil wicks in, squeal stops. I am happy and the whole process takes 10 minutes, (not counting arguing with you).

SO WHAT IS YOUR PROBLEM??? THAT MAYBE SOMEONE WON'T BUY AN OVERPRICED 'REPLACEMENT' HEATER CORE FROM YOU because they didn't open up their heater box? Oh, sorry, am I shouting? Go away. You seem to have nothing constructive to add.

Lock this thread, it's going nowhere on a dead-end track.
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website Instagram Gallery Classifieds Feedback
Terry Kay
Banned