Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

Rocky The Volkswagen, Build Thread
Page: 1, 2, 3  Next
Forum Index -> Vanagon Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
jokeraus
Samba Member

PostPosted: Fri Feb 19, 2016 12:56 pm    Post subject: Rocky The Volkswagen, Build Thread Reply with quote

Hey samba. I'm starting a build log to keep track of some of these projects I'm working on.

I bought the van a year ago, not running. Had/has 60,000 miles on it.
PO is a mechanic and he could not diagnose a no spark issue for about 4 years. It got passed around to a couple VW shops who weren't successful and recommended replacing the wiring harness.

I had seen the van at his shop for a few years while in school. I asked about it last spring after I graduated college and had an income, yay engineering! Told me he would consider $7000 cash.

Very clean van, no rust, and said it ran great up until it quit running one day. The ECU was replaced, coil, and distributor. None of which fixed the problem.

I ended up buying it for that price. A fellow van addict was more then willing to poke around the van and make sure there wasn't something hiding.

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

chilling at a busy intersection

The problem ended up being the ECU relay contact was dirty, it provided 12V, but not enough current could flow through the contact to run the circuits. Thankfully none of the components he installed were duds. It started after pounding on the fuel pump to unfreeze it and getting the fuel hoses to stop leaking.

Since then I've been going through the basic systems such as replacing the entire fuel system, brakes, fluids, etc. Now I'm to the point of moving onto the fun camper projects. It's a slippery slope folks.