Hello! Log in or Register   |  Help  |  Donate  |  Buy Shirts See all banner ads | Advertise on TheSamba.com  
TheSamba.com

65 Ghia
Page: 1, 2  Next
Forum Index -> Ghia Share: Facebook Twitter
Reply to topic
Quick sort: Show newest posts on top | Show oldest posts on top View previous topic :: View next topic  
Tom K.
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2021 9:20 am    Post subject: 65 Ghia Reply with quote

I'm starting the process of sorting through this Ghia bought off of Craigslist last spring. It's an ugly one for sure. Was originally green. Months of bodywork are coming my way. I think the PO even put his laundry under that black paint, haha, along with a tub or two of bondo. But I'll bring it back. The car and I were both born in '65. No structural rust yet that I could see. I'd like to return it to green maybe with a white top.

Image may have been reduced in size. Click image to view fullscreen.

I need to begin getting various missing parts. I'm new to these cars. Does this dash look reasonable complete?

After market tach might stay or might go. Any thoughts?

Same can be said if this aftermarket pedal cluster and gear knob - probably replace with Stock

What goes in that hole?

And how hard is it to find a descent period looking radio that works?

And did that pressure gauge replace something stock in that spot?

Here is the engine. Not sure yet whether I will keep this or return to stock.

'65 Ghia: https://www.thesamba.com/vw/forum/viewtopic.php?t=762478&highlight=
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Gallery Classifieds Feedback
DariuszPlich
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2021 10:10 am    Post subject: Re: 65 Ghia Reply with quote

He is not ugly at all Smile I see a lot of potential! A great base for reconstruction. Good luck and I'll watch;)
c21darrel
Samba Member

PostPosted: Thu Dec 02, 2021 10:29 am    Post subject: Re: 65 Ghia Reply with quote

Quote:
Does this dash look reasonable complete?